Military Ordnance

The Department of Defense (DOD) is involved in the cleanup of “Formerly Used Defense Sites” (FUDS). Clean-up of FUD properties are managed by the Army Corps of Engineers (USACE) as part of the Defense Environmental Restoration Program (DERP). FUD properties were once owned or used by the DOD, but are no longer within their ownership or control. The subject properties range from privately owned farms to National Parks. FUD properties also include residential areas, schools, colleges, and industrial areas. More sites will be added as active military installations are released under the Base Realignment and Closure Act. The FUDS program includes former Air Force, Navy and Army, National Guard, Reserve facilities and other defense agency properties. Active military sites are NOT included on the FUDS list. Other properties that are not included on the FUDS list include, but are not limited to: (1) Sites outside U.S. jurisdiction; (2) Sites in which the current owners utilized the former DOD facilities and have started clean-up; (3) Sites for which the DOD component that owned or used the site has accepted full restoration responsibility; (4) United Services Organization sites, (5) Civil Works sites; (6) Sites for which no records are available; (7) Sites with no reported USACE action planned; and (8) Cemeteries.

FUD properties can include properties with common industrial waste, ordnance or other warfare material, unsafe structures to be demolished, or debris removal. Most FUDS properties do not contain unexploded ordnance. Only those FUD sites that the USACE has identified to contain Military Ordnance or have mitigation projects planned for them are disclosed in this report.

A risk assessment procedure was developed by the USACE to prioritize the remedial actions at FUD sites. Each FUD site is given a Risk Assessment Code (RAC) score to describe the site status. The risk assessment is based on the best available information resulting from record searches, reports of Explosive Ordnance Disposal (EOD) detachment actions, field observations, interviews, and measurements. The Risk Assessment Code is dependent on two factors: hazard severity and hazard probability.

  • RAC 1 – Imminent Hazard
  • RAC 2 – Action required to mitigate hazard
  • RAC 3 – Action required to evaluate potential threat – Archives search and site investigation
  • RAC 4 – Action required to evaluate potential threat – Archives search
  • RAC 5 – No action required
  • RAC N/A – No Score has been assigned